Vir Cantium

I'm right, you know …

Numemmerac-what?

It’s alright for me, I’m an accountant. I do numbers’n’stuff.

So I can laugh at this, via The Register:

… Levenshulme’s Tina Farrel, a 23-year-old who admitted “she had left school without a maths GCSE”. She explained: “On one of my cards it said I had to find temperatures lower than -8. The numbers I uncovered were -6 and -7 so I thought I had won, and so did the woman in the shop. But when she scanned the card the machine said I hadn’t.

“I phoned Camelot and they fobbed me off with some story that -6 is higher, not lower, than -8, but I’m not having it.

“I think Camelot are giving people the wrong impression – the card doesn’t say to look for a colder or warmer temperature, it says to look for a higher or lower number. Six is a lower number than 8. Imagine how many people have been misled.”

The saddest thing, though, is not the lack of numeracy among non-dyslexic Mancunians, but the fact that Camelot caved in and withdrew the game.

Leave a Reply

